Moby Website

Moby Trivia

 Home Page | Biography | Trivia | Discography | Photos Gallery | Desktop Wallpapers | Quotes

Birth name: Richard Melville Hall 

Date of birth: 11 September 1965 

Place of birth: New York, New York, USA 

Credited As: Richard ‘Moby’ Hall, Richard Hall 

Height: 5′ 3″ (1.60 m) 

  • Well known techno artist. His music was included on many soundtrack albums, including: Cool World (1992), Heat (1995), Scream (1996), The Saint (1997), The Jackal (1997) and Tomorrow Never Dies (1997). In 1997 he released the album of his film music called “I Like To Score”.
  • Descendant of Herman Melville, author of “Moby Dick” – that’s where his pseudonym comes from.
  • He is a strict vegan.
  • Gave the speech inducting Steely Dan into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.
  • Every track off of Moby’s 1999 album “Play” was used either in a television commercial or on a movie soundtrack (including “Any Given Sunday”). Moby’s music is not generally viable for radio singles, so he felt he needed to get his music heard by the masses somehow, doing so has helped “Play” become his most commercially successful album to date.
  • Releases his album ’18’, which comes with 18 collectible art cards designed by Moby himself in all pre-orders. [May 14, 2002]
  • Directors for his music videos include Nick Brandt, Roman Coppola, Wayne Isham, David LaChappelle, Joseph Kahn, Mike Mills and Jonas Åkerlund.
  • Owns a vegan restaurant in New York City called “TeaNY”.
  • Contributes “Nearer” to the “Warchild Hope” album (released 21 April 2003).
  • A member of animal welfare group Peta.
  • In a November 2008 interview Moby spoke about the follow up album to Last Night. “I want to make a really emotional, beautiful record. I don’t know if I will succeed, but my goal is to make something very personal, very melodic, very beautiful.” The album, titled Wait for Me, was released in June 2009. 
  • On 20 January 2010, Moby announced that he was to begin working on the next record. The mood for this record will be more acoustic and less electronic than before. 
  • In March 2010, Moby announced that he will release a new single “Wait For Me”, the title track from his original album, on May 4, 2010.
Related Information:
Russell Crowe Desktop Wallpapers
Matt Leblanc Desktop Wallpapers
Gary Oldman Trivia
Elijah Wood Desktop Wallpapers
Bridget Moynahan Quotes